My Mother’s Italian, My Father’s Jewish & I’m in Therapy

November 16, 2007

Many people in New York City, whether they be tourists or residents, have been seeing Off-Broadway shows. In recent events, the “Strike on Broadway” has definitely boosted ticket sales for Off Broadway shows, making for packed houses, producing new fans for smaller shows. This was the case last night at the Westside Theatre for My Mother’s Italian, My Father’s Jewish, & I’m in Therapy.

In this one-man-show, developed by Steve Solomon, and preformed by Paul Kreppel. The character is waiting for his therapy appointment to begin when he goes into a long story about his life. He tells the story of an unconventional, and multicultural upbringing. To many people this upbringing would be considered, completely normal. Hey, this is New York City, nobody’s parents are from the same culture!

The audience was full of older people, who all looked like my grandparents. With every small joke, the audience bursted into laughter. The show hit just about every crank possible that has to do with the old time Jewish people, and of course, the Italian people. If I was twenty years older, this show might have struck a stronger chord with me, but I know my elders would have loved it! If you have no interest in cultural bashing, humor, or pointing out flaws of multiple religions and cultures, maybe this is not the show for you.

The successful Off-Broadway show currently in NYC and San Francisco was thought to be closing very soon, but it is NOT closing… If you were planning on seeing it, go to see it now anyway!

The theatre is very small, being the downstairs of “I Love You, Your Perfect, Now Change” at the West Side Theatre. The show feels very long, as there is no intermission, but Paul Kreppel’s voice fills the room and is exchanged with huge laughter, which makes it a good time. After (or before) the show, you are left on the famous 9th Ave, where you can eat at some of the best restaurants in the world. So if your Broadway show was canceled this weekend, go see My Mother’s Italian, My Father’s Jewish, & I’m in Therapy.

-Written by: Stephanie Weingart

2 Responses to “My Mother’s Italian, My Father’s Jewish & I’m in Therapy”


  1. […] pbb wrote something that might interest you todayHere’s a brief breakdownMany people in New York City, whether they be tourists or residents, have been seeing Off-Broadway shows. In recent events, the “Strike on Broadway” has definitely boosted ticket sales for Off Broadway shows, making for packed houses, … […]

  2. Patric Says:

    Hey Stephanie,
    Thanks for giving such an interesting article..
    Okay…so I’m a big fan of variety shows. There’s something about the “over-the-top”ness that I enjoy. But last year, when my friend took me to a new variety show called Holiday Wonders, I didn’t know if I’d like it.
    What the show actually was kinda blew my mind. It was like the writers/directors/performers had squeezed the best essence out of Chinese traditional culture, added a dash of zesty Western accent, and come up with a whole new dish. I saw my own cultural history (as a Westerner) from a new perspective and my eyes were really opened to the depth of artistry that China’s five thousand-year-old culture has produced.
    It expanded my horizons and I feel confident recommending it. Check out the website at http://www.holidaywonders.com. Let me know what you think.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites Web Page Hit Counter

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog
